Honest advice regarding server choice needed for a complete newb. - Ragnarok Online Community Chat - WarpPortal Community Forums

Photo
- - - - -

Honest advice regarding server choice needed for a complete newb.

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 TheMerv

TheMerv

I am New.

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 March 2015 - 04:38 AM

First, I'm gonna start off with a rant. :rice:

So currently at the time of writing, my WP Ragnarok DLM is downloading the game I've been stoked to play again for so long. "Again", because about 4 years ago when i was 14ish I played my share of crappy High-Rate private servers with a few friends which, for the lack of a better word, was ugly.

It was donations ahoy :wall: , with non-existent PVM (getting to 150 took a mere 2 hours). Everyone wanting to be viewed worth their salt would pretty much have to kiss the GM's asses beforehand to obtain god gears instantly. PVP and WoE are obviously the only things that matter in a server like this, but with YGG Berries selling for 150k zeny each, it was simply matters of out-berrying each other. Oh, and you pretty much have to be a Geneticist, GX or a Sura (and POSSIBLY a Sorc), because those are the only classes that can reliably dish out damage worthy of a OHKO-2HKO.

I HATED it. I craved for the feeling of a proper WOE in where i won't die in 2 seconds, because everyone would have to work for awesome gear. Or a proper Endless Tower without a single Gen soloing it. Or being able to make niches like an autocast DPS melee character viable. Or maybe being able to play a f@#king game without shelling out money.

... :p_smile:

4 years later I've reached this place. It was probably nostalgia for me craving to play RO again, but whatever. I figured out iRO would be a great place to play again (correct me if I'm wrong LOL), but I'm currently torn between Classic or Renewal.