3 replies to this topic

#1 Neferdias

Neferdias

I am New.

• Members
  • 5 posts
  • Playing:ROSE Online

Posted 29 October 2011 - 10:43 PM

I just stumbled on this forum... no joke. 2ish years of playing this game and never knew it was here... anyways...

So I'm in school right now working towards my digital media and IT diploma from my local tech college and I want to major in the modelling/animation side of things... and since I recently read up that Gravity likes community input (to some extent) I'd like to try and put together some assets... or play around with strict poly counts, dimensions and animations.

So what I'm looking for... is a basic idea of what size I should build my models to. At this point I'd like to stick to carts and CG's... but if you'd like to give some pointers on how I should go about building items (weapons, offhands, and back items to start) I'd greatly appreciate the input.

I'm still new to the restrictive nature of in game rendering... so if you could maybe give me an idea as to what I should aim for poly count wise (though this is probably tough to gauge) it would help me out. Sometimes I tend to think something is low on the poly count... but in fact it's probably insanly high.

#2 Rukario

Rukario

Awarded #1 Troll

• Members
  • 797 posts
  • LocationJohnston City, IL

Posted 30 October 2011 - 03:31 AM

Interest is always appreciated.

What I mainly have to say, is that you should send a personal message to Calanor, as he'd be the first probable person to ask about this.

#3 Xenobite

Xenobite

Amateur Blogger

• Members
  • 188 posts
  • Playing:Nothing

Posted 30 October 2011 - 05:30 PM

what 3d program are you using?
I can send you some example models as size/proportions reference these days (character models, car model with driver in position, CG)
as for polycount, I have to check (I forgot exact numbers)

you will have to follow some "rules"/guides - models pretty much have to use same skeletons