Ragnarok 2: LOTS First Impression - Ragnarok 2 Community Chat - WarpPortal Community Forums

Photo

Ragnarok 2: LOTS First Impression

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Vaxa

Vaxa

I am New.

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 January 2013 - 05:30 AM

I've been a RO veteran, started playing about 8 years ago for around 3-4 years on and off. Back when Valkyrie didn't exist and iRO was incredibly grindy I was the guild leader of a successful WoE guild on a private server. No other game gave me such nostalgia and memories than RO.

I was following RO2 somewhat during its bumpy development phase and just recently found out about the launch of RO2. Luckily, Canada hasn't been IP blocked by the SEA version and I was able to gather some friends new to the world of Midgard to play alongside them. I am currently lvl 20 and here's what I think so far.

Presentation: The graphics in RO2 are okay. The game is bright and colorful and minimalistic. The textures aren't too detailed but it fits the art-style. Some textures appear more crisp than others but that's not too much of a setback.

Card System: From what I've played and seen so far, I'm fairly dissapointed with the card system. Cards only upgrade stats like STR, VIT, AGI etc. No status ailments like the beloved LOD card, literally only stat upgrades. Cards don't seem to be as rare of a drop and are equipped to your character rather than equipment.

Dungeons: I've completed the Wolf Cave and Prontera Culvert. The Wolf Cave was more complex and less linear than the Culvert. The bosses had several skills up their sleeves which was nice to see (hate tank'n'spanks) such as a puddles of poison that randomly spawn near the boss, minion spawning, headbutts, AoE web snares etc. The Culvert (first dgn) was very linear and easy which I think was intentional considering it's the first; nothing too special. There is a dungeon finder feature and a LF feature but many people still use the chat to recruit.