Are supporting, healing Mages useful? - Magician Class - WarpPortal Community Forums

Photo

Are supporting, healing Mages useful?

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Trancua

Trancua

I am New.

• Members
  • 5 posts
  • LocationEl Salvador

Posted 20 November 2010 - 05:19 PM

So I'm pretty new to this game, and I made a mage as my first class. Normally, I'm a sorcerer/priest type character in other MMORPG games, so I decided to be one in this game as well.
I quickly skimmed through some mage guides in this forum, and decided on a build for a supportive caster. But so far, in the first job (before level 20), it seems like supportive casters aren't needed at all. Nobody in the party rarely takes damage, and my own damage output is laughable. I'm normally the bottom feeder at the end of every mission. It's kinda sad.

So, I'm asking, should I keep going with my dream to make a supportive healer in the future, or should I scrap this character and try a more offensive mage? Are mages in general any good compared to the other classes? I'm asking because they seem to deal much more damage at a much faster pace than any mage I've seen so far...

Note that I'm still at the beginner levels, so excuse me if I seem a little n00bish. Thanks!

#2 invazn

invazn

Amateur Blogger

• Members
  • 368 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 20 November 2010 - 06:32 PM

Don't worry, healers are definitely needed, if not now, then later for sure. I'm kinda surprised that your heals weren't needed, especially at the beginning of the game, when people don't have good equips/def to tank damage. So I suppose you are kinda lucky with your teams, which is a good thing. But back on topic, don't give up on it haha. Your heals will be very valuable in places like Van Cliff/Bone Dragon and other mission maps, since monsters will hit a lot harder. As for PVP, I'm sure everyone wants a healer on their team! <_<