The Economics of Botting - Ragnarok Online Community Chat - WarpPortal Community Forums

Photo
* * * - - 13 votes

The Economics of Botting

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
94 replies to this topic

#1 ExDarkrb

ExDarkrb

Too Legit To Quit

• Members
  • 1234 posts
  • LocationSingapore
  • Playing:Ragnarok Online
  • Server:Chaos

Posted 01 July 2012 - 05:43 PM

I have seen waaaaaay too many debates here and there about botting being bad and on the other hand having some people that say botting is not completely a bad activity as it boosts the economy.
So, as an economics student, i think i should shed some light on the topic for those that are not well-versed in this area.

Botting from the perspective of a market failure:

Botting, in short for botting activity, is a type of market failure where there is an inefficient allocation of resources, namely, over-allocation at times.

As from the diagram below, you can see that there are 2 lines, SMC and PMC while SMB=PMB. The divergence in the SMC and PMC lines show the increasing negative externalities (more botting, more cost on the society)

Marginal cost/benefit is the additional cost/benefit you pay/receive for each additional item

eg. 1 apple $1, 2 apples $2, 3 apples $3
some marginal costs are constant like above but some are diverging
1 poring card 2000z, 2 poring cards 3800z, 3 poring cards 5500z...

Posted Image

Qs represents the socially optimum level in which the the cost of society fully matches the benefit by society and Qe is the equilibrium quantity where the private benefit matches the private cost.
As you can see from the diagram that because of botting activity, we, as a community, suffer a welfare loss.

In real life, a tax or a sort of pass is needed to control the private cost so that it matches the socially optimum level but there is no such thing in-game.

However yet, what negative externalities do we actually bear? 0.00100 more ping?