Starting A Server - New Player Zone and General Guides - WarpPortal Community Forums

Photo
- - - - -

Starting A Server

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Bobania

Bobania

I made it Off Topic

• Members
  • 37 posts
  • Playing:Ragnarok Online
  • Server:Chaos

Posted 12 March 2013 - 09:13 AM

'Afternoon ladies and gents. I haven't played RO (iRO to be specific) in some 6 years and back in the day there were a lot of bots, which skewed the population count and inflated the market. I'm probably going to start again and wanted help in choosing a server. I've seen one or two posts like this, but they are kind of outdated and thing may have changed since.

Could someone help me decide a server? Can someone answer my criteria on deciding?
:help:
  • Server Type? (Renewal or Classic)
  • Population? (Would rather a quantifiable answer if possible)
  • WoE Intensity?
  • Amount of bots?
  • Life of the server?
I'm completely new to renewal and would like to play some third classes. Also, the "VIP" thing of subscription isn't a deal breaker. F2P or P2P.

Thanks in advance,
-Me

#2 Alaska

Alaska

Too Legit To Quit

• RO Fungineering
  • 4817 posts
  • LocationMontreal, Canada

Posted 12 March 2013 - 09:48 AM

If you want to play 3rd classes, cross Classic out because that's pre-3rd class. You aren't obligated to be a VIP user to play either server.

Renewal
Population? (Would rather a quantifiable answer if possible)
http://ragial.com/spop/

take that with a grain of salt since it doesn't account for bots/alts/venders/etc but it should give you an idea.

WoE Intensity?
Depends on the guild you're in, really. There tends to be a lot of concentrated action and fighting within one or two castles between big alliances and guilds, while the other castles have smaller scale battles going on, if any at all.

Amount of bots?
Ehm... a pretty fair amount if I'm to be honest. For the spam bots at least it's easy to get rid of them using NoSpam.