Question about RO Client - Renewal Technical Support / Bug Reporting - WarpPortal Community Forums

Photo
- - - - -

Question about RO Client

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 pikachiquita5

pikachiquita5

Amateur Blogger

• Members
  • 314 posts
  • Playing:Ragnarok Online
  • Server:Ymir

Posted 22 October 2011 - 02:39 AM

Hello, my RO client exploded earlier today. According to RO Knowledgebase, it was supposedly due to having an older client: the Ragexe error message was pretty much exactly how Support described it would be---it did indeed "provide a complex error message filled with letters, numbers and something like "Job: Novice" at the bottom."

The fix is to download the newest version (although I thought I had it already, I only started playing again ~May 2011 and got the client at that time), so I re-downloaded what is on Warp Portal. Yet, Support mentions that "If you are uncertain whether or not you are running the correct client, the .exe files should be named Renewal.exe and RagnarokFree.exe respectively. If the names of the .exe file under the properties tab don't show up exactly like that, it's an older client."

However, if I look at the .exe files in the Gravity/RO folder, the ones listed are "Setup," "Ragexe," and "Ragnarok"---and under properties the names are still the same. Nothing there has "Renewal.exe" or "RagnarokFree.exe" there. SO!

1. Can I just ignore what is on the Support site? I fully un-installed and re-installed the RO client from Warp Portal, I don't know how much newer it can get.

2. Another thing Support mentions is that one should "Make sure to right click and select "Run as Administrator" for whichever client you load." Should I make sure to "run it as Administrator" every time I play the game? I've never done that before and didn't seem to run into issues for not doing so.

Thanks in advance for any help and advice!!!

#2 Axylus

Axylus

Too Legit To Quit

• Members
  • 2383 posts