Common problems and their solutions - Technical Support/Bug Reporting - WarpPortal Community Forums

Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 4 votes

Common problems and their solutions


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 Axylus

Axylus

    Too Legit To Quit

  • Members
  • 2163 posts
  • LocationEngland, United Kingdom

Posted 04 May 2015 - 06:07 AM

Please do not quote this entire post if you reply to it.

 

If this guide helps you, then please upvote it to encourage me to continue updating it. :)

Problems and solutions

1. An error occurs when I attempt to download the client installer

Error message: HOST_WindowLoadTimeout

Solution:

Reset Internet Explorer's configuration.

Error message: Unable to load metafile

Solution:

Download the latest version of the download agent.

1-1. An error occurs when I attempt to install the client on Windows XP

Error message: A file that is required cannot be installed because the cabinet file Media2.cab has an invalid digital signature. This may indicate that the cabinet file is corrupt.

Possible solutions:
  • Manually install the latest trusted root certificates.
  • Follow the directions in Microsoft Support article KB822798.
  • Install all available Windows updates. If this is not possible, then you should at least install SP3.
Note: If you are using Windows XP, then you should definitely consider upgrading to a newer version of Windows because Windows XP is over 15 years old and is no longer supported by Microsoft.

2. The updater fails to connect to the server

Error message:
  • Failed to connect to patch server
  • Failed to connect to file server
Solution:

If you are not using a home Internet connection, then check whether you can connect to any of the following servers using Chrome or Firefox:If you cannot connect to any of these servers, then your local-area network (LAN) probably does not allow FTP connections to the Internet. If this is the case, then you have only two options: use a virtual private network (VPN) or seek help from your network administrator.

If you are using a home Internet connection or a LAN that does allow FTP connections to the Internet, then try the following in order:
  • Restart your computer.
  • If you have any download managers installed, such as FlashGet, Free Download Manager, or GetRight, then configure them to not integrate with Internet Explorer.
  • Reset Internet Explorer's configuration.
  • Force local resolution of the update server's address. (See Appendix: 1.)
3. The updater is installing updates from 2011

Solution:

Note: You should only complete the following procedure if you cancelled the update process before all of the available updates (including the outdated ones) were installed. If you did not cancel the update process, then you should instead reinstall the client.
  • If the updater is open, then close it immediately.
  • Download the file1 that corresponds with the version of the installer that you used to install the client:

    February 2016: archive.png IRO client (2016-02-12).7z
    February 2017: archive.png IRO client (2017-02-16).7z
  • Download and then install 7-Zip.
  • Open the file you downloaded in step 2 in 7-Zip.
  • Press F5.
  • Specify the location of the client installation folder, press enter, and then choose to replace all of the existing files.
4. The updater is constantly reinstalling recent updates

Possible solution:
  • Clear Internet Explorer's cache. (See Appendix: 2.)
  • Download the following file:

    archive.png IRO client updates (2016-02-25 to 2017-02-23).zip
  • Extract the file you downloaded in the previous step into your client installation folder and replace any existing files.
5. An error occurs when I attempt to open the client

Error message: The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log or use the command-line sxstrace.exe tool for more detail.

Solution:

Install the Visual C++ 2008 Run-Time Library SP1 (x86). (Download the file vcredist_x86.exe.)

Error message: skininfo_new.lua:219: attempt to call global `C_IsSteamON' (a nil value)

Solution:

Open the file in the client installation folder named Patchup.exe. If this does not resolve the problem, then do the following:
  • Download the following file:

    archive.png Renewal client updater.zip
  • Extract the file you downloaded in the previous step into your client installation folder and replace the existing file.
6. The list of display resolutions in the client's configurator is empty

Solution:

If you are using Windows 8 or later, then make the client configurator run with the recommended compatibility settings using the Program Compatibility Troubleshooter.

7. I cannot configure the client to use a display resolution higher than 2048 × 1536

Unfortunately, it is not currently possible to make the client use a display resolution higher than 2048 × 1536 because this is the highest resolution supported by Direct3D 7, which the client uses to render graphics.

7-1. An error occurs when I choose a server after authenticating

Error message:

CHARACTER_INFO size error!!
CHARACTER_INFO size : 144

Possible solution:

Warning: Do not follow these instructions if you last updated your client before 2017/1/5 because doing so will cause your client to skip installing one or more updates.
  • Clear Internet Explorer's cache. (See Appendix: 2.)
  • Close any and all open clients.
  • Download the following file:

    IRO client updates (2017-01-05 to 2017-02-16).zip
  • Extract the file you downloaded in the previous step into your client installation folder and replace any existing files.
8. The client's camera is misaligned

Solution:

To reset the parameters of the camera, double-right-click while holding shift and control.

9. My screen captures are in monochrome and distorted

Solution:

Configure client to use a display resolution with a width and height that are both multiples of 8.

The following common pixel lengths are not multiples of 8:
  • 900
  • 1050
  • 1366
10. The client freezes when I attempt to move to a new area

Solution:

If you are using Windows 8 or later, then ensure the client is configured to use windowed mode because the client does not function correctly when using fullscreen mode.

11. I cannot control my character after moving to a new area

Solution:

Press alt-tab twice.

12. A persistent error occurs when I attempt to use a mercenary or homunculus

Error message: ./AI/AI_M.lua:2: module './AI/Const.lua' not found

Solution:
  • Download the following file:

    archive.png Default AI system.zip
  • Extract the file you downloaded in the previous step into your client installation folder and replace all of the existing files.
Appendix

1. Force local resolution of the update server's address
  • Open Notepad while holding shift and control.
  • Answer the User Account Control prompt affirmatively.
  • Press control-O.
  • Enter the following:

    "%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\drivers\etc\hosts"
  • Press enter.
  • Append the following lines to the file:

    128.241.93.13 playragnarok.com
    128.241.93.38 patch1.playragnarok.com
    128.241.93.38 patch2.playragnarok.com
  • Append a blank line to the end of the file.
  • Press control-S.
Vy4uR2P.png

2. Clear Internet Explorer's cache
  • Open Control Panel.
  • Choose Internet Options.
  • Press Delete… in the Browsing history section.
  • Select the following options:

    6AwWA70.png
  • Press Delete.
Glossary

Client configurator: The application that allows you to change the client's settings. Its file name is Setup.exe.

Client installation folder: The folder in which the client is installed. Its default location is C:\Gravity\Ragnarok Online.

Download agent: The application that allows you to download the client installer. Its file name is Ragnarok-DLM.exe.

Updater: The application that updates the client. It is also known as the "patcher". Its file name is Ragnarok.exe.

Notes

1. These 7-Zip archives contain a current copy of all of the files that are both necessary for the client to function properly and can potentially be modified before the completion of the update process.

Edited by Axylus, 09 March 2017 - 05:24 AM.

  • 8

#2 tamagotchi3890

tamagotchi3890

    Amateur Blogger

  • Members
  • 260 posts
  • Playing:Nothing

Posted 01 June 2015 - 04:19 PM

development.png Comments and suggestions are welcome. :)

Problems and solutions

I7. My screen captures are in monochrome and distorted

Solution:

Configure client to use a display resolution with a width and height that are both factors of 8.

Correction: Multiples of 8.

1024 is a multiple of 8.
8 is a factor of 1024.
The factors of 8 is {-8, -4, -2, -1, 1, 2, 4, 8}.
{..., -8, 0, 8, ..., 640, ..., 768, ..., 1024, ..., 1360, ...} is the multiples of 8.

Do not confuse the difference between factors and multiples.


  • 1

#3 ShadowKnights

ShadowKnights

    I made it Off Topic

  • Members
  • 31 posts
  • Playing:Ragnarok Online

Posted 02 August 2015 - 03:44 AM

My problem  is in log in "connect faild" and when I go any city or else sometime not go "Please Wait" and "lag it" :sob:


Edited by ShadowKnights, 02 August 2015 - 03:53 AM.

  • 0

#4 Bizzy13

Bizzy13

    I made it Off Topic

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 16 December 2015 - 07:06 PM

any solutions on this error

 

2my7zfa.jpg

 

im running on windows xp im just a poor boy who wants to play iro :sob:


  • 0

#5 Axylus

Axylus

    Too Legit To Quit

  • Members
  • 2163 posts
  • LocationEngland, United Kingdom

Posted 17 December 2015 - 02:36 AM

any solutions on this error

[…]

im running on windows xp im just a poor boy who wants to play iro :sob:


Did you try the possible solutions described in item 1-1 (An error occurs when I attempt to install the client on Windows XP)?
  • 0

#6 wadoichimonji

wadoichimonji

    Amateur Blogger

  • Members
  • 396 posts
  • Playing:Ragnarok Online

Posted 18 December 2015 - 07:03 PM

My patcher suddenly start patching from January 2013. I tried step 3 but it didnt solve the problem. Any solution?


  • 0

#7 wadoichimonji

wadoichimonji

    Amateur Blogger

  • Members
  • 396 posts
  • Playing:Ragnarok Online

Posted 19 December 2015 - 06:05 PM

Sorry for double post

I re-copy the file on step 4, and found that there are 472 file errors in it. Only copied about 75% of the content. I'm sure I downloaded it fully, but it seems there's some error files in it.

 

I tried to repair my installation but didnt solve the problem. Should I re-install my RO? T_T


  • 0

#8 887357698026881

887357698026881

    I am New.

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 January 2016 - 10:16 PM

1425573_10204893464727908_77052085745878

i meet this problem ,i use your method but also like this !!

so how can i do???

pls help!!!!1 :sob:


  • 0

#9 Axylus

Axylus

    Too Legit To Quit

  • Members
  • 2163 posts
  • LocationEngland, United Kingdom

Posted 02 January 2016 - 11:50 AM

[…]
i meet this problem ,i use your method but also like this !!
so how can i do???
pls help!!!!1 :sob:


Please do the following:

Tip: If you're using Windows 10, then you can paste into a Command Prompt window by pressing control-V, and you can copy the contents of a window to the clipboard by pressing control-A, control-C.
  • Open Command Prompt.
  • Enter:

    ftp -A patch1.playragnarok.com
  • Wait until ftp either succeeds or fails to connect to the server.
  • Secondary-click on the window's titlebar and then choose EditSelect all.
  • Press enter to copy the contents of the window to the clipboard.
  • Include the contents of the clipboard in a reply to this post.
Example output:

Spoiler

Edited by Axylus, 02 January 2016 - 11:53 AM.

  • 0

#10 JiejieFeng

JiejieFeng

    I am New.

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 08 January 2016 - 03:48 PM

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.10586]
© 2015 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
 
C:\Users\Zhijie>tracert playragnarok.com
 
Tracing route to playragnarok.com [128.241.93.13]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
 
  1    14 ms    28 ms     8 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [192.168.0.1]
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3    40 ms    13 ms    13 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [209.148.244.93]
  4    12 ms    13 ms    13 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [24.156.146.10]
  5    28 ms    30 ms    38 ms  van58-9-231-29.dynamic.rogerstelecom.net [209.148.231.29]
  6    34 ms    39 ms    42 ms  INTEL_CE_LINUX [24.156.144.178]
  7    24 ms    23 ms    30 ms  ae-32.r05.chcgil09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [157.238.64.233]
  8    27 ms    32 ms    39 ms  ae-6.r20.chcgil09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.2.24]
  9    60 ms    66 ms    71 ms  ae-4.r23.dllstx09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.152]
 10    55 ms    59 ms    63 ms  ae-3.r22.dllstx09.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.5.20]
 11    99 ms    99 ms   109 ms  ae-5.r22.lsanca07.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.7.69]
 12    90 ms    98 ms    88 ms  ae-1.r01.lsanca07.us.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.123]
 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 14    95 ms   154 ms    98 ms  portal.demarcation.gravityus.com [204.2.170.50] 
 15    83 ms    89 ms    89 ms  www.requiem.warpportal.com [128.241.93.13]
 
Trace complete.
 
C:\Users\Zhijie>ftp -A patch1.playragnarok.com
Connected to patch.1.online.ragnarok.warpportal.net.
220 Ragnarok Online Patch Server
200 OPTS UTF8 command successful - UTF8 encoding now ON.
331 Anonymous access allowed, send identity (e-mail name) as password.
230-Welcome to the WarpPortal Ragnarok Online Patch Service
    Directory has 142,675,935,232 bytes of disk space available.
230 User logged in.
Anonymous login succeeded for xxx@xxx
ftp>
 
 
please see above. can not connect to patch server for half a month

  • 0

#11 dryGones

dryGones

    I am New.

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 23 January 2016 - 11:38 PM

Hello everyone..

 

I have a little problem.. It's been so long that I have not play RO..Probably since 2015.. The problem is each time I log in and enter into Eden.. a window pop up said "error.Cannot find File: sprite\@#$%@Q.act"

I will try provide the screenshot since cannot find where to put attachment in here..ehe  :p_swt:

 

Please help..huhu..dying to play back this game..   :sob: 

BTW..I already uninstall and install again and run patch download from above post.. 


  • 0

#12 VModCinnamon

VModCinnamon

    They pay me to post.

  • WarpPortal VM
  • 5176 posts
  • Playing:Ragnarok Online

Posted 23 January 2016 - 11:58 PM

You can host the screenshot on Tinypic or Imgur and link it here.


  • 0

#13 dryGones

dryGones

    I am New.

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 January 2016 - 09:54 AM

You can host the screenshot on Tinypic or Imgur and link it here.

 

oh..thanks a lot..here the screenshot..I'm totally lost..already try re-install and re-patch...even use old back-up RO data from 2014 but still not working

 

oZq2NA5.png?1


  • 0

#14 besssy

besssy

    I am New.

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 February 2016 - 12:05 AM

saaaaaame here. so me too occured the same problem about the repatching issue, 

so i decided to uninstall the RO and download it again because that kind of solution helped me before, but the situation right now seems bad. my luck doesnt cooperate with me right now :D

huhuhu so when i clicked the "game download" in this site even the Ragnarok DLM doesnt run. T_T someone preciouse pls help us :D im hoping that this issue is somewhat generally on the server


Edited by besssy, 24 February 2016 - 12:05 AM.

  • 0

#15 nicholaskwan

nicholaskwan

    I made it Off Topic

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 01 June 2016 - 03:23 PM

hello.. i need help in warpportal launcher, i just checked i using my home internet the warpportal is not running and even www.warpportal.com cannot be reached,i tried to change DNS Server address but it still can't work.. 


  • 0

#16 StephenCarl

StephenCarl

    Amateur Blogger

  • Members
  • 233 posts
  • Playing:Ragnarok Online
  • Server:Chaos / Thor

Posted 06 June 2016 - 03:58 AM

the continuous error is still continuing even though i downloaded the file needed

13351082_10206366256466512_1322400993_o.


  • 0

#17 VModCinnamon

VModCinnamon

    They pay me to post.

  • WarpPortal VM
  • 5176 posts
  • Playing:Ragnarok Online

Posted 06 June 2016 - 04:17 AM

the continuous error is still continuing even though i downloaded the file needed

Spoiler


Make sure the folder address after installing the files from step 12 is proper.

 

Correct directory: C:\Gravity\Ragnarok Online\AI\ [here will be the LUA files]

Incorrect directory: C:\Gravity\Ragnarok Online\AI\AI\ [here will be the LUA files]

 

If that didn't help see my post here.


  • 0

#18 Zeebigbadkitty

Zeebigbadkitty

    I am New.

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 June 2016 - 04:24 PM

I'm getting "The application has failed to start because of it's side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log or use the command-line sxtrace.exe tool for more detail."

 

Windows 10. 

 

I installed the C++ package that was already recommended. 


  • 0

#19 Axylus

Axylus

    Too Legit To Quit

  • Members
  • 2163 posts
  • LocationEngland, United Kingdom

Posted 27 June 2016 - 03:23 AM

I'm getting "The application has failed to start because of it's side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log or use the command-line sxtrace.exe tool for more detail."

Windows 10. 

I installed the C++ package that was already recommended.


Please do the following:
  • Download the following file:

    Side-by-side errors.xml
  • Open the start menu.
  • Type "event viewer" and then press enter.
  • In the right pane, choose Import custom view… and then choose the file you downloaded in step 1.
  • Press enter.
  • Select the first item in the middle pane.
  • In the right pane, choose CopyCopy details as text.
  • Include the copied text in a reply to this post.

Edited by Axylus, 27 June 2016 - 03:24 AM.

  • 0

#20 Goryduck

Goryduck

    Amateur Blogger

  • Members
  • 232 posts

Posted 11 July 2016 - 11:40 PM

Thank you for writing this.  #12 fixed my issue.


  • 0

#21 ChickenPorkAdobo

ChickenPorkAdobo

    Awarded #1 Troll

  • Members
  • 563 posts
  • LocationNASA PUSO MO!!!
  • Playing:Ragnarok Online
  • Server:Server ng Pagbabago

Posted 14 July 2016 - 11:55 PM

I am having problem with my updater, it doesn't get the recent update Automatically. Well there is no error on the updater it just automatically "Patch is completed", and I just saw the recent patch has 6 updates. When I start playing I'm getting  Sprite Error, July Groove pack is "Unknown Item" and when a character has the new costume.


  • 0

#22 Axylus

Axylus

    Too Legit To Quit

  • Members
  • 2163 posts
  • LocationEngland, United Kingdom

Posted 15 July 2016 - 06:45 AM

I am having problem with my updater, it doesn't get the recent update Automatically. Well there is no error on the updater it just automatically "Patch is completed", and I just saw the recent patch has 6 updates. When I start playing I'm getting  Sprite Error, July Groove pack is "Unknown Item" and when a character has the new costume.


Try the following:

Warning: Don't follow these instructions if you last updated your client before 2016/6/9 because doing so will cause your client to skip installing one or more updates.
  • Close any and all open clients.
  • Download the following file:

    patch.inf
  • Navigate to the IRO client installation folder in File Explorer/Windows Explorer.
  • Replace the file patch.inf with the version you downloaded in step 2.
  • Open the Renewal client.

  • 0

#23 ChickenPorkAdobo

ChickenPorkAdobo

    Awarded #1 Troll

  • Members
  • 563 posts
  • LocationNASA PUSO MO!!!
  • Playing:Ragnarok Online
  • Server:Server ng Pagbabago

Posted 15 July 2016 - 10:16 AM

I have done everything but still my client won't patch the recent updates. I did uninstall it already still won't patch, It's kinda annoying that every time I go to a town or in Eden I'm getting a sprite error due to the new costume from the July Groove Pack and July Groove pack is Unknown item on my Cash Shop.


  • 0

#24 DK888

DK888

    I am New.

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 September 2016 - 04:02 PM

Tried ping patch1.playragnarok.com and patch2.playragnarok.com request timed out

Ping playragnarok.com return Reply from 128.241.93.13: bytes=32 time=290ms TTL=118

 

Any idea is the patch server is down or only me facing problem connecting patch server? 

 

 

 

 


  • 0

#25 VModCinnamon

VModCinnamon

    They pay me to post.

  • WarpPortal VM
  • 5176 posts
  • Playing:Ragnarok Online

Posted 03 September 2016 - 04:12 PM

Tried ping patch1.playragnarok.com and patch2.playragnarok.com request timed out

Ping playragnarok.com return Reply from 128.241.93.13: bytes=32 time=290ms TTL=118

 

Any idea is the patch server is down or only me facing problem connecting patch server? 

 

Hello, if you are experiencing this today then please visit this thread to learn more about the patch server issue.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users